The mind of hand stitchin

256205_10151942061695623_1703572374_o      I am finding over time that it is not the art of perfect stitching, I seek. It is the act of sitting quietly, the meditation of handy creation and dreaming of good things while my fingers move.  All these years steeped in the art of pondering life while hand stitching has brought peace to mySelf and my children.  I began sewing  cotton menstrual pads while my oldest sat next to me playing.  A conscious act,  a symbol of giving my child MY presence.  I refused to spend time on the phone or on a computer when they were formulating their own thoughts.  At an early age, my girl was sitting next to me hand stitching too. Our doll making becoming a fad.

As a mother, I spent that precious time of childhood just BEING with my kids. I created my own attachment parenting style by attempting a lifestyle that would inspire them to grow up in a world where we create what we want from what we have. We spent much time doing nothing and watching as some wonderful adventure would stir from that quietude (tho, a reminder, quietude from a childs eye is quite loud sometimes!). We lived simply, off the grid, unschooled and with a family trade. Consciously choosing this lifestyle was my way to leave a memory in my children’s minds (and my own!). That life can be a joyful example of living simply. It wasn’t all peaches all the time. Being revolutionary surely brought isolation and some hard times. But these hard times were only an immeasurable lesson in becoming authentic as individuals and as a family.

The world outside our home was, in the mean time, speeding by. Hand stitching (and music) kept the soul of my family alive and showed me a passion that can bring in income now as my mothering slows down and MY life continues.   I do notice, as the world turns and my kids are jumping into their own fast stream, that when they don’t find peace in the world, we all know home is where they are headed! All due to the mind of hand stitching.

PS The inserted photo is one of my girls first dolls.

About Mikaela kate

Raised middle in a dancing circle of seven children. Grew up in a middle class Irish Catholic environment and have been ever so rebellious since. My rebel skills include being a truely practicing lover of no conditions, especially with the young folks and a wide open heart that seems to attract magic in very adventurous ways. Im also rather fiesty for justice, and with age some discipline. I reveal MySelf for MySelf. Welcome and Merry Meet!
Image | This entry was posted in hand stitching, minimalist, Simple Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The mind of hand stitchin

  1. Love you & your way!!!

    Like

  2. treothe says:

    It sure has been a beautiful encouragement to witness the doll you gave Lucy take on a life and move your family love across space and time into our family life – it is a well loved and played with part of life here – I have all these images of it wrapped and swaddled and tucked away on shelves in sleeping spots – outside on wanders… makes the world a bit warmer – thank you for sharing yourself through the loving handwork…

    Like

    • Mikaela kate says:

      teardrop….oh yeah. im on a mission. specially with my dear heart family that just keeps getting stronger and stronger in my heart. so happy to hear that a dolly i created may become real some day….

      Like

Leave a Reply

